Return of The Nap!


funny-nap-quote-kid1

As a young child, we were often forced to take naps whether it was at school, or at home. We resented the attempts to take us away from our favorite cartoons or play time. Fast forward a decade and some and as a college student we relish the chance to take a nap in between out hectic schedules. Being a sleep deprived student myself, I decided my policy would be for mandatory nap time for college students.

The benefits of naps go far beyond the 20-30 minutes spent sleeping. According to HuffPost’s article on research conducted on the benefits of napping, napping has many mental and physical benefits. Naps Have the power to relieve stress. As a college student, the juggle between working to keep grades high while respecting your commitment to activities such as organization and sports. The balance all these responsibilities can be be very stressful. Research shows that more than half of college student suffer from above average levels of stress. With a policy that requires students to a nap, schools would see a decrease in stress levels on its campuses.

nap-rollover-plan Naps also have the benefit of improving learning and memory skills.

With the never-ending influx of information from class, it can become rather difficult to retain everything taught in class. A nap before or after classes would greatly improve students ability to retain information and lead to better test scores and grades. Nap-Time-Now-and-Then

6 comments on “Return of The Nap!

  1. What an idea! As an athlete with morning practices, I need to nap during the day to function. In college thats easier than high school. I think naps in high school would be where I would place this policy. Waking up at 4:45 to practice then 6 hours of school, another practice, then homework was grueling and I honestly do not know how I survived. I would definitely have loved to take a nap – voluntarily, as there were many times I fell asleep in class, oops – for a period in high school. I know not everyone has the nap-friendly schedule I do now so the nap policy could definitely still be in effect at the college level as well.

  2. Wouldn’t this policy be nice?! Spain has the right idea with their siestas. In the afternoon, usually after a midday meal, there is a period reserved for sleep. Many people leave work and students go home from school around 2pm for a break. I think this is a great idea, but I do not see how it would be implemented in the US. I cannot imagine stores and businesses closing for a couple hours during the afternoon since we tend to be so consumed in our work and profit driven.

  3. I would definitely love this! I would say around the time I started high school is when I grew appreciative for the invention of a nap. I babysit often and I tell the kids, I’d take anything the nap daily if I had the time. And in college, I have been lucky to find the time to take a short ‘cat’ naps needed, and don’t know what I would do without them.

  4. I see a fair number of students napping in the library on those ridiculous comfy couches that murmur to you “come, sleep my child.”

    One thing that would help i think is to get away from a culture that equates napping with laziness.

    • It is an interesting phenomenon that our culture does in fact relate napping to laziness. When really looking at this idea it seems idiotic. Sleep is one of the most essential parts of surviving and functioning as a human being. I have noticed that if I nap after studying, or even nap before studying my memory does seem to be better.

  5. I agree that naps can significantly increase performance in school. When you are tired, it is much harder to pay attention and stay focused, not to mention stay awake. On average, I bet most high school and college kids do not get enough sleep each night. Not only can this affect performance in school, it is also unhealthy. It’s so funny that we all hated naps as kids and now we are begging for them.

Leave a Reply

