Google Docs


Upon taking the technology quiz I was deemed a “Digital Collaborator.” This grouping means I enjoy using information technology to connect with others. I am also confident in my skills to manage and use technology. I would agree that I fit into this category. I believe advances in technology have made it much easier for people to collaborate.

I choose to stick with the theme of collaboration for my blog. I would like to focus on the invention of Google Docs.googledocs I have had many group projects in college and Google Docs has made group work much easier and more convenient. Google describes Google Docs as, “an easy-to-use online word processor, spreadsheet and presentation editor that enables you and your students to create, store and share instantly and securely, and collaborate online in real time.”

Groups are able to save so much time with this technology. Instead of using one computer to work on a document, everyone can access the document and add information or make edits. This technology is safe and reliable since all edits from each user are safely stored online. Google Docs allows more people to work on the same thing in the presence of their own home. Group work is much easier and more efficient when everyone can work on his or her own time. Without Google Docs groups would have to meet more to discuss their progress and emails would be utilized much more to share information and collaborate.

6 comments on “Google Docs

  1. I totally agree. Google Docs has definitely saved me from some groups projects with difficult scheduling issues since each member could do the work on their own time. I do have to say though sometimes Google Docs are really frustrating. Like the PowerPoint application really does not work that well and the formatting in a Google Word document is very difficult to control and does not transfer well in and out of Microsoft word if you try to copy & paste…maybe thats my fault for being too lazy to just download it as a Microsoft Word doc though

  2. I also agree that Google Docs is a great way to collaborate with other people on projects. I’ve used it in many different group projects and I love that you are able to edit documents at the same time as other people so that everyone is able to see. It saves time and is very efficient. Technology in general allows us to collaborate with others in efficient ways, which is definitely one of my favorite benefits as well.

  3. I couldn’t agree more. This has to be one of the best ways for a a group of people to simultaneously be involved and connected on projects. I think in time we will see google working more with Microsoft to make google docs more compatible with programs like Microsoft Word and Powerpoint.

  4. Keeping on topic from yesterday’s class, I think that this invention is one that fits perfectly into the hacker ethic model. Google Docs has allowed people to continue to collaborate with one another and has greatly improved the flexibility of work. Groups no longer have to be all together to get something done, people can really work on their own time.

  5. Ugh. Yes, collaboration helps. But the spreadsheet is so limited in some ways. I have found myself trying to go back and forth with Excel, but that adds new layers of complexity.

Leave a Reply

