Because I am a Champion


katy-perry-600For this weeks music blog, I chose the over-played Katy Perry song Roar.  This song is more than just a song on the radio, a song you hear in the bar, or hear blasting among friends in rooms, this song has put smiles on peoples faces across the country and brought people together.  For me this song speaks to the chronic bullying that goes on today in our school systems:

I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath
Scared to rock the boat and make a mess
So I sat quietly, agreed politely
I guess that I forgot I had a choice
I let you push me past the breaking point
I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything

You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, you hear that sound
Like thunder gonna shake the ground
You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Get ready cause I’ve had enough

these lyrics above have inspired people to stand up, fight against those who are pushing you down.  In a video below a school came together to create a lip-dub Katy Perry video of their entire school singing the song. This video was inspired by a girl with down syndrome who went out for the cheerleading squad.  It really shows just how one song can make a difference in peoples lives.

‘Roar’ has also inspired Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth, the songs lyrics:

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar

the following is a video of these sick children showing they truly are CHAMPIONS!

So the next time you hear ‘Roar’ in the halls of your dorm, in your car, or out at a party, think of it more as just an over-played song, but one that has changed the lives of many, letting them know they are champions and can overcome anything.

“Roar” by Katy Perry

I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath
Scared to rock the boat and make a mess
So I sat quietly, agreed politely
I guess that I forgot I had a choice
I let you push me past the breaking point
I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything

You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, you hear that sound
Like thunder gonna shake the ground
You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Get ready cause I’ve had enough
I see it all, I see it now

[Chorus]
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar

Now I’m floating like a butterfly
Stinging like a bee I earned my stripes
I went from zero, to my own hero

You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, you hear that sound
Like thunder gonna shake the ground
You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough
I see it all, I see it now

[Chorus]
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’ll hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar…

Ro-oar, ro-oar, ro-oar, ro-oar, ro-oar

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’ll hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar…

6 comments on “Because I am a Champion

  1. I do not believe “Roar” is or ever will be an overplayed song. I watched many school’s auditions of their version of Roar and agree the song is very empowering. I especially enjoyed the children’s hospital version of Roar. Katy Perry’s lyrics are very motivating and inspiring to everyone! The song has been able to bring many people with different backgrounds and interests together as one.

  2. Roar is one of those songs that I never really thought had a deeper meaning. For some reason whenever I hear Katy Perry-like songs I consider them to be superfluous, but I guess this is just ignorant of me. Bullying is such a serious issue in schools that often gets overlooked so I appreciate the attention that she brings to it. I only hope that more people read into her message.

  3. I have never particularly enjoyed this song, but I’m now realizing that is because I have never paid close enough attention to the lyrics and what they truly mean. I think it’s great when people use their fame to create songs that can help people across the country. This song has a great message that I hadn’t noticed before and I’m happy to see that Katy Perry is encouraging bullied children to stand up for themselves.

  4. I never would have guessed in a million years that Katy Perry would have a song with this kind of meaning…I’ve heard it before and didn’t even bother to listen to what she was actually saying.

Leave a Reply

