Welfare-Mart


20946_600

 

 

 

 

 

 

For paper 2 I have chosen to discuss the ethics behind shopping at Walmart.  Walmart has been faced with many class action law suits due to the way they treat their employees.   As this has been in the news a lot recently, I want to attack the question of whether or not shopping at Wal-Mart in turn becomes unethical as you are ‘feeding’ their behaviors.

I was actually able to find a book through talking to Jordi about my paper 2 topic.  Jordi suggested Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Enreneich.  The book contains a chapter called Selling in Minnesota which focuses on Barbara Enreneich’s experience finding a job and ultimately working for Wal-Mart.  She finds herself living pay check to pay check and having difficulty paying her weekly rent on the sub-par apartment she is living in.  Along with these struggles, she discusses her experience as a Wal-Mart associate and the unsatisfying tasks she is given to complete.  I plan on using this chapter for paper 2 as a basis for why I believe it can be unethical to shop at Wal-Mart due to such bad environments the employees are placed into.  In addition to the hours, and the way Wal-Mart treats their employees.  It is not always as smiley as corporate would like to make Wal-Mart appear.

walmart

5 comments on “Welfare-Mart

  1. I’ve always been intrigued by Walmart’s continued praise while still hearing about the unethical actions it takes. In my time in the U.S., I have heard more positive and praise for the company than criticism about it. To be honest, I didn’t really begin to hear negative things about the company until around my sophomore/Junior year of college. Its as if people are willing to over luck these issues for a cheaper price.

    • Small businesses struggle to compete with Walmart’s low prices. I know in my area numerous new Walmarts have popped up and many smaller businesses, including family owned grocery stores and hardware stores, have struggled to gain the profits they were used to.

Leave a Reply

