Looking into America’s Obesity Crisis with “Food Fight”


261850For Paper 2, I plan to use the Whole Foods Harvard Business Case and explore the role of ethics in the food industry.  In order to find a book I could potentially use for Paper 2, I initially tried to find “Conscious Capitalism: Liberating the heroic spirit of business,” a book written by John Mackey, the CEO of Whole Foods. Since the library didn’t have it and I would like to use it as a source for me paper, I requested an interlibrary loan. I then used Google Scholar to search for Mackey’s novel and attempted to find books that cited his book. Unfortunately I only found online articles.

Lastly I searched “obesity and fast food” in the online library catalog and found the book, “Food Fight: The Inside Story of the Food Industry, America’s Obesity Crisis, and What We Can Do About It” by Kelly Brownell and Katherine Horgen. Both Horgen and Brownell have their Ph.D and Brownwell is the Director of the Yale Center for Eating and Weight Disorder. Although the book doesn’t explicitly discuss ethics in the food industry, it sheds light on the obesity epidemic in America (when the book was written in 2004, it stated that 65% of America is obese).

If you want to look further into this number, go to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention –definitely worth taking a look at. “Food Fight” makes an interesting comparison between food and tobacco regulations–something that I have never considerd but that is certainly true: “The food industry now stands at a critical juncture and may wish to benefit from lessons learned by tobacco. If the tobacco industry had instituted a monitoring process years ago in collaboration with health and public policy experts, the severe blows they have suffered might have been anticipated and some constructive, alternative plan developed.”

9 comments on “Looking into America’s Obesity Crisis with “Food Fight”

  1. I have never considered the comparison between food and tobacco either. I think this would be a great topic to expand upon and bring into your paper 2. The regulations of these industries are very interesting.

  2. You can ILL a book from library. On the catalog page, click link. Usually it is to you in a few days or less.

    You can borrow my copy. I’ll be around office tomorrow.

  3. A “novel” is a work of fiction. A prose book, a non-fiction book, is, and this is super technical, a “book.” it may seem like small fries to you (and your classmates), but I promise you to professors and other educated people, misusing novel is kind of like wearing white socks and dress shoes to a formal interview.

    🙂

  4. Since the book is from 2004, I wonder if you can also use ti see what may have changed in the last 10 years. Especially for the White paper. I agree that it’s general background will be useful for both papers.

    It may may state ethics per se, but if it discusses what industry can do, those ideas may be relevant for paper 2.

  5. Hey Bridget, I read a book called “World Hunger” that reasons that if our economic and social systems were different, we could feed everyone in the world at current levels of food production. There is discussion of capitalism and food ethics within… let me know if you’d like to borrow it.

Leave a Reply

