Are children being helped or hurt by the extension of CHIP?


I was excited to hear that we’d be learning about the PPACA for this blog because it’s a topic I didn’t know much about. I think it’s important to be informed about current events, especially politically related since certain laws could have major effects on people. While taking the quiz, I felt like I wouldn’t get more than a few right, but I ended up getting a 5/10. Although I knew more than I thought, I still didn’t feel educated enough. The first question in the quiz brought up what is probably the most controversial aspect of Obamacare. I was surprised to learn that people will have to pay a fine if they don’t have health insurance starting in 2014. There are some exceptions such as religious objections, but for the most part, Americans are going to be required to have health insurance.

reports20090128chip

One of the aspects of the PPACA that I wanted to learn more about was the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Chip was signed into law in 1997 and provides health coverage to about 8 million children in families with incomes too high to qualify for Medicaid, but not high enough to afford private health care coverage.

Obamacare will maintain the income eligibility standards for children in Medicaid and CHIP until 2019 and will extend funding for CHIP through 2015. An additional $40 million in federal funding will be provided in order to continue efforts to promote enrollment in Medicaid and CHIP. With the PPACA, part of the CHIP enrollment will be switched to Medicaid.

Although I believe it’s great for more children to be eligible for health care, the type of health care provided is in question. After researching different viewpoints on this issue, I learned that Republicans argue that children who are forced to move from CHIP to Medicaid will consequently receive worse coverage. Also, some children may have to switch doctors, and there are concerns that Medicaid patients receive unequal treatment. Many children would then be on different plans than their parents, which could raise other concerns. I think it’s imperative that children have access to health insurance, but I also think it is not entirely productive if they have to switch doctors and possibly switch to Medicaid.

3 comments on “Are children being helped or hurt by the extension of CHIP?

  1. I am curious to know, if although those who already are under CHIP may have to switch to Medicaid, with PPACA providing more funding allow for more children to be under CHIP? Meaning, even though it may have people switching doctors, will the over all change (potentially helping more children) be able to outweigh this?

  2. I’m glad you chose to write about CHIP because I didn’t realize the implications of the bill for children. I think that it is entirely unproductive to children to have to change doctors under medicaid. This will inevitably increase the workload of many doctors and could very well complicate things down the road. I also don’t like the idea of children being covered by medicaid instead because it lumps them together with the whole populous. Children need different attention and care than adults in general and the new system seems to fail to recognize this.

  3. Why would some kids move from CHiP to medicaid?

    Good point about switching doctors. I hope that doesn’t happen. All of my family see the same GP, and I can tell you, it adds an extra level of care. Since he knows us all, he has a deeper view of our overall mental and physical well-being.

Leave a Reply

