26 Year Old Children


original

I scored a 5 out of 10 on the quiz. I found that the five I answered correctly were provisions I have heard about over and over and some of the others are ones I have never heard any discussion about. In choosing a topic to focus on, I thought about how Obamacare relates to me. There is a new policy that allows “children” to say on their parents’ healthcare plan until they are 26. Previous to this, insurers could drop children from their parents’ plan regardless of student or job status. The Department of Labor answers some basic questions about this nicely.

Any child age through age 26 is covered with their parents insurance as of 2010. This child a can be married or single, in school, unemployed, or have a full-time job and all statuses in between without fear of loosing health insurance. When health insurance is provided by a parent’s employer, the value of the child’s healthcare is not included in the income of the parent for the taxable year, this way the parent is not being taxed on their child’s prolonged healthcare.

My opinion and supposed political believes were battling over this topic. My republican self wants to criticize the plan for allowing post-graduates to prolong the job search and stay at home, fostering laziness. But being a 22 year-old-almost-college graduate, I know how difficult it is finding a full time job with benefits right out of school. I am also very much planning on living with my parents until I can afford my own place and not having to worry about my own health insurance costs could make that process quicker.

Because insurance premiums under Obamacare will be relatively high for younger adults, the ability to stay on your parents’ plan help protect them for this until the age of 26. I think that this provision is a positive aspect of the act especially since many young adults are weary about making a healthcare decision.

…I did still find this SNL cold open about Obamacare pretty funny. (Its also good for Breaking Bad fans!)

6 comments on “26 Year Old Children

  1. With the large proportion of young people going to college today (and therefore putting off working), I think that it is important that people in their mid twenties have access to affordable insurance. There are still problems with plans that cover adult children… I am covered by my parents dependent coverage plan, but still face difficulties getting care as a college student. Because my family (and therefore insurance plan) is located in California, it is hard to find services in Pennsylvania that my insurance will cover.

  2. The post-graduation years to stay on your parent’s insurance plan is very beneficial with the job search struggles of recent years. Those are important years to get a career started and any extra money saved is a huge deal for young adults hoping to progress in their profession and possibly start a family.

    • To play devil’s advocate, can’t it also give recent graduates lack of motivation to find a job knowing that they are still covered under their parent’s insurance plans?

  3. Being able to stay under your parent’s healthcare plan until 26 is very reassuring. Many college graduates go onto grad school immediately and therefore will not seek a job that offers full time benefits. I would agree that I would be weary making a healthcare plan decision right now.

  4. The article you linked from the Huffington Post was a good read, I did not realize that 1 in 4 young adults ages 18-25 lack healthcare. This is an alarmingly high number to me.

  5. I don’t know if it is “Republican” to expect lazy people to get off the couch…

    But the question is whether prior to this, those 21-26 were lazy, uninterested, or unable to afford insurance.

Leave a Reply

