Keep Your Friends Close, and Your Enemies Closer


Americans want a cohesive government, but all we get is childish bickering.

Americans want a cohesive government, but all we get is childish bickering.

After taking the test, I found that I am a post-modernistic thinker.

Here, is my test.

This basically means that I am generally supportive of government, but really in the hope that we will reform our view of regulation and sustainability as a tool for a prosperous future. I was very interested to see my score on the political view test, and it really does seem to be accurate. Throughout the 16 day shutdown, I felt more so that the government was being childish than anything. Although the Republican party knew that it wouldn’t succeed in not raising the debt ceiling, they pushed for a long time, costing us approximately 26 billion dollars to our economy according to Standard & Poors. I strongly opposed the shutdown, and felt that we really just needed to make a decision and go with it. After 16 days, we have gone with the decision to raise the debt ceiling for now, but who is to say that we won’t be having these same grueling arguments in February when the debt question will be up again.

So, I have stated my opinion. I think that the government shutdown was at the fault of childish behavior, and it costed us 26 billion dollars. I began to search for an article that would counter my thinking, and support the Republican argument. I actually struggled to find an article with this opinion, but Forbes contributor, Pascal Emmanuel-Gobry was brave enough to support the shutdown. Here, is Pascal’s Article.

The interesting thing is that Pascal argues that Obamacare will threaten innovation in the Healthcare industry. Hm, so here I am thinking that the Republicans aren’t thinking about the future, but in reality they care about innovation for the future. So, although I don’t agree that the shutdown was justified, at least it shows that the Republicans were concerned that Obamacare will inhibit growth in the future. I feel that this exercise of finding a counter argument really added value to my view on the shutdown. It comforts me that at least the republican debate supports future innovation, and being a world leader.

I learned that it is very easy to just take an opinion, even if you don’t take the time to gather the facts. But in reality, this quickness to form an opinion can actually hurt our ability to make informed decisions. If I would have at least looked into what the Republicans argument was, maybe I could have learned that my post modernistic views may align with the Republicans who stress sustainability and innovation for the future.

7 comments on “Keep Your Friends Close, and Your Enemies Closer

  1. I have felt exactly the same way about the shutdown being pretty ‘childish’. It is clear that no side is going to be completely happy with the solution so we might as well sitdown and make a middle-ground decision instead of punting it down the road a couple months at a time. Regarding the article about Obamacare, I also never heard the healthcare innovation side of the arguement either. Pretty interesting point and does make you feel a little better about things. However, I can’t get myself to believe that all, or even a majority of, republicans are thinking about it in this way. I still feel that most of them are simply objecting because their party requires them to do so.

    • So so childish. And, from an organizational point of view, seems to me the story of a small group within the R party able to exert enormous leverage. less so than about government dysfunction per se, or about Republicans in general, it struck me as a story of how a small group was able to ideologically isolate itself and then from that base, leverage the House speaker for a long time.

  2. The thing I find aggravating from a common sense point of view about debt ceilings is that they allow for the worst kind of “cake and eat it too” behavior from legislators. This is debt we ALREADY knew we would incur.

    So, they voted a budget in deficit, and then like six months later can say ” oh no, debt is a crisis, we can’t keep spending so much more than revenue.”

    From a conservative point of view, it is lame as they can vote for big government and then get credit for acting like it is a problem.

    From a liberal point of view, it is lame because of above, plus, the debt ceiling keeps this idea going that we spend too much (it is quite possible to narrow or reverse a deficit through increased government revenue too… )

  3. Cute cartoon. I agree- many Americans complain about the “size” of government but freak out when their favorite service or program is a target of slimming down.

  4. I think your argument is spot-on, and I also agree that seeing such behavior in our government is childish. The effects of this standoff were quantifiable, and while ulterior motives may have been in mind, it should be clear to those running our nation that the immediate issues at hand need to be debt with responsibly. The financial and economic impact of the shutdown is a huge marker for the impact that the shutdown had, not to mention how the rest of the world probably felt watching this squabble within our government. However, this isn’t a new issue, and, as Jordi has pointed out, there are valid arguments from either side, and no definitive solution. Learning more about both sides of the issue is imperative to understanding it, even though we often want to block out differing opinions and trust in our view resolutely.

  5. I guarantee we will be in the exact same situation in February. Congress keeps punting the issue to a later date so that they can get reelected instead of balancing the budget and helping our future.

Leave a Reply

