Will an Apple a Day Really Keep the Doctor Away?


As I sat and watched Bucknell’s version of “The Agony and Ecstasy of Steve Jobs” I appreciated the way Bucknell approached the story. I mentioned in my earlier blog that I felt that Daisey was wrong to misrepresent his story as fact and that readers should be more aware of the source of their information. I thought the play did a good job of differentiating between what was fact and what was artistic expression or opinion. I also really enjoyed how the history of Apply was intertwined with the Daisey story. I felt like this gave the listener a better understanding of why Apple does business the way it does and also showed the cracks in Daisey’s story.

I thought it was very interesting to see how the play represented Apple. “Being in love with Apple is like being in love with heartbreak.” The play did a good job of exposing Apple for the enigma it really is in the business world. The play makes mention of how Apple tells its consumers what they should want and when they should want it. The example with the iPod mini and nano really made me think about how Apple treats its consumers. Apple has created a cult of followers, considered almost a religion to many but as the play points out, “thats a problem for any religion, when you start to think.” This play really made me think about Apple and its practices, not only in China but how it treats its consumers all over the world.

By chelsealodato Posted in Blog 4

7 comments on “Will an Apple a Day Really Keep the Doctor Away?

  1. I really like the title of your post because it intrigued me to read it! I found the example of the ipod mini and nano very intriguing as well. I had never fully realized how true it is that Steve Jobs makes people destroy Apple when the new, improved and smaller model comes out. I thought it was perfect and fitting to refer to Jobs as a “nanomanager” rather than a micromanager.

  2. Apple has created this cult culture where when anything negative is said about its product, a mass following attacks and defend how great the product is. I know this because I have been guilty of openly defending Apple products. There is a created hype for a product that most of the time, only has around 5 new features compared to the older model. I think it was good that you used the quote about religion because Apple has become a type of religion, where most blindly follow.

    • I’ve fallen into the same trap! I’ve had my Iphone for 3.5 years now and it works well, but I found myself drawn into researching the new models. There isn’t anything the new versions offer that is going to make my life better, and yet Apple’s comparative analysis of the various phones made me think that I am missing out! I was intrigued and had to remind myself I didn’t need this product.

  3. I agree, the intertwining of Daisey’s story and Apple’s history was very interesting. Specifically, the Jobs interview about Foxconn and his denials of workspace wrongdoings was very well orchestrated within the production.

  4. Reading your posts reminds me of how many layers of meaning are woven into the play. FOr example, Matt’s post about thinking and democracy and this one, where it comes back to the thinking as the antidote to religious myopia. The full play does much more for an audience as an artistic and relevant piece.

  5. I agree that the history of Apple added to the performance significantly. It seemed to give credibility to the overall performance since it presented both sides of the story and included incontrovertible facts. I think the performance brought up a different perspective, bringing Jobs and his personality into the forefront of the argument, rather than only talking about Apple as a whole.

    • Completely agree. When comparing Bucknell version’s to Daisey’s, Daisey’s seems much more like a performance while Bucknell’s seems more journalistic concentrating on getting the facts out there.

Leave a Reply

