The Great Wall of Secrets


As I mentioned in my first blog post, Apple has been reprimanded in the past for its poor treatment of workers, especially in China. This podcast really intrigued me. Since I am a Management and East Asian Studies double major, I have learned a lot about China over the past couple years and have taken Chinese for 7 years.  Additionally, since last May I have watched Apple very closely for one of my classes, the Student Managed Investment Fund. With that said, I really understood what Mr. Daisy was talking about. After learning about China and Apple throughout the past couple years and then visiting Beijing and Hong Kong three years ago, I have learned that China is filled with secrets. Apple is no outlier. Even when I went to Tiananmen Square and my mom asked our translator, “What happened here?” she responded with “I don’t know.” Of course she knew. It was very courageous of Mr. Daisy to attempt to break down this wall of secrets. Additionally, I agree wholeheartedly that Apple, a “company so obsessed with details” could overlook the under-aged workers and the conditions they have to work in. Furthermore, as consumers, we need to be more aware of where our products come from, how they are made, and who makes them.

4 comments on “The Great Wall of Secrets

  1. I agree with your argument, but I find it hard to believe Apple just “overlooks” the fact that underage workers are used and exploited. To me it seems like it’s a much more extreme example of purposely letting this happen in order to mass create their product at an incredibly low price.

  2. I definitely agree that Daisey’s comments were courageous and controversial. Especially after reading how secretive Apple is in general, on top of the secrecy in China, it seems that one can put themselves in a dangerous position by discussing topics like Daisey did. Dangerous but necessary. You’re last statement I think is so important and truly captures the crux of Daisey’s monologue. He wanted us to see Apple’s personal side and realize the consequences of our buying actions. It is not just money coming out of our pockets and into the hands of Apple executives, or any retail company. There is so much behind the scenes that no one takes into consideration along with debating if they want the white or black iPhone.

  3. I think that you bring up an important point here about the secretive nature of China. Over the past decade or so, China has really emerged as a world power and there is no denying that the country will continue to grow and prosper in the coming years. However, there really is a great deal about the nation that we really don’t know about and a lot of it is quite troubling. To a much greater extent than the U.S, the Chinese government seems to rule with an iron fist, leaving little room for the public to question its leaders. Hearing what Daisey had to say about the worker unions in China and the perils that may come with joining one is a prime example of this. I strongly believe that we as a nation have to strive to be a little bit more assertive about global working conditions. We cannot be a facilitator of ‘work camps’ such as the ones described by Daisey, but rather try and set the standard of fair working standards across the globe. Whether we can actually get our biggest companies to help with the cause is the real challenge.

Leave a Reply

