Mr. Daisey and Apple


Although I’ve previously learned about the poor working conditions in China as it relates to manufacturing Apple products, this monologue provided personal experiences of the workers, which really opened my eyes to how unfair such practices are. As an owner of a MacBook Pro, iPad, and iPhone, listening to how miserable the working conditions are for the people who make these products saddened me. It seems as though everyone I know has at least one Apple product. I love using Apple products but I am now thinking twice about what it means to support a company that treats its workers so poorly.

Some of the statistics mentioned were horrifying. People working up to 16 hours a day, people getting injured on the job and then fired for being slow, and the high suicide rate were just some of the disturbing facts that really caught my ear. Also, the fact that the electronics are all put together by hand was shocking to me. I would have thought that machines played a bigger role in the process. Another shocking part was when the man who worked with iPads had never even seen one on.

The line that stood out to me the most was when Mike said, “Do you really think Apple doesn’t know? A company obsessed with the details? Or do they do what everyone else is doing, do they just see what they want to see?” It seems to me that many people only see what they want to see when using products that were made in the factories like the ones described in the monologue. No one is willing to give up their iPhone because of working conditions in China that don’t affect them personally. I feel as though many people are ignorant to the facts of what really goes on in factories such as Foxconn because they are not personally being harmed. This shouldn’t change the fact that the way these workers are getting treated is extremely unjust.

5 comments on “Mr. Daisey and Apple

  1. You mention that Mike thinks Apple is merely turning a blind eye to the conditions in China and that many consumers do the same. While these may be common practice it does not make it right at all. The things that Mike spoke about and the stories he told of the work conditions and lifestyles of the workers are terrible and should not be ignored. There has to be some social responsibility of the company and the consumers as well to fix these types of conditions. I cant say that I am any different as I sit and type this post on my MacBook Pro with my Iphone sitting by my side but I really think this is something that we as consumers need to recognize as a serious problem. We must share the responsibility of Apple’s actions since we are the ones giving them business.

  2. I like what you said about the harm not being personal. I discussed the fact that people still use Apple and other products that require slave-like labor, yet do not seem to stop or want to stop. The fact that it does not personally effect them hits the nail on the head. It is easy to see the problem, but hard to identify with it if you’re not personally effected.

  3. I think that you hit on a great point that Mike Daisy poses. How do we create awareness, and even more importantly concern and activism to issues such as this one that we somehow feel detached from? The arts (such as Daisy’s monologue) are especially talented in eliciting emotional responses, but I question whether they will have larger effects in mainstream society and business.

  4. It’s difficult because monologues like Mike Daisy’s do a great job of eliciting the emotions of his listeners, but but he lacks a certain credibility that is needed to truly make a difference in the grand scheme of things.

Leave a Reply

